Shopping cart

View your shopping cart.

Primary links

The Four Corners Lecture Series features presentations on the archeology, current Native American cultures, history, and natural resources of Mesa Verde and the Four Corners area.  All lectures are free and open to the public.

 

Native American Dances — May 31-September 2, Wednesday-Saturday, 7:00 p.m., Cortez Cultural Center

 

David Faulkner — Species of the Sagebrush Sea and the Birds that Swim There

May 10, Wednesday, 6:15 p.m., Cortez Cultural Center

 

Steve Lekson — Chaco: The Big Picture

May 10, Wednesday, 7:00 p.m., Lyceum, Center of Southwest Studies, FLC (hosted by SJB/CAS and FLC)

 

Deborah Westfall, Winston Hurst, Jonathan Till — 50 Years at the Edge: Perspectives from the Curator

May 13, Saturday, 2:00 p.m., Edge of the Cedars State Park Museum, Blanding

 

G.B. cornucopia — Archaeoastronomy and the Ancestral Puebloan Culture

(stargazing to follow, weather permitting) 

May 20, Saturday, 7:00 p.m., Anasazi Heritage Center

 

Janet lever-wood — Weaving the World Together

May 21, Sunday, 4:00 p.m., Rusticks Gallery, Bluff (hosted by Friends of Cedar Mesa)

 

Community Festival — Springtime on the Colorado Plateau

May 27, Saturday, 10:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m., Canyon Country Discovery Center, Monticello

 

Tova Spector — Wild World of Wildflowers

June 2, Friday, 7:00 p.m., Visitor and Research Center, Mesa Verde National Park

 

Jack Turner — “1936: Adventure in Crooked Canyons – Ansel Hall’s Radio Address on the Rainbow Bridge Monument Valley Expedition”

June 14, Wednesday, 1:30 p.m., Lyceum, Center of Southwest Studies, FLC

 

Harvey Leake — “We are particular to preserve…”: The Wetherills and their Archaeological Investigations at Mesa Verde and Beyond

June 16, Friday, 7:00 p.m., Visitor and Research Center, Mesa Verde National Park

 

Carrie Heitman — Of House and Home: Gender, Labor and Liturgy in Chacoan Archaeology

June 28, Wednesday, 7:00 p.m., Crow Canyon Archaeological Center

 

Phil Geib — What Cave 7 Has to Say About the Cause(s) of Basketmaker II Warfare

June 29, Thursday, 7:00 p.m., Sunflower Theatre, Cortez (hosted by Hisatsinom/CAS)

 

Porter Swentzell — The Pueblo Food Experience

June 30, Friday, 6:30 p.m., Edge of the Cedars State Park Museum, Blanding

(hosted by Edge of the Cedars & Friends of Cedar Mesa)

 

Hopi dancers — July 1 & 2, Saturday & Sunday, 11, 12, 2, & 4:00 p.m.,

Visitor and Research Center, Mesa Verde National Park

 

Stars n’ S'mores Night Sky Program — July 1, Saturday, 8:30 p.m.,

Canyon Country Discovery Center, Monticello

 

Susan Ryan — The Northern Chaco Outliers Project

July 6, Thursday, 7:00 p.m., Sunflower Theatre, Cortez (hosted by Hisatsinom/CAS)

 

Louie Garcia —Weaving in the Pueblo Southwest

July 12, Wednesday, 7:00 p.m., Lyceum, Center of Southwest Studies, FLC (hosted by SJB/CAS and FLC)

 

Shanna Diederichs — A Frontier in Bloom: Basketmaker II Colonization of the San Juan Frontier

July 15, Saturday, 2:00 p.m., Edge of the Cedars State Park Museum, Blanding

 

Rudy Davison — 1887: Telluride and the Sheridan Mine Come of Age

July 19, Wednesday, 1:30 p.m., Lyceum, Center of Southwest Studies, FLC

 

Mike Todt — 1917: The Great Bisbee Deportation

July 26, Wednesday, 1:30 p.m., Lyceum, Center of Southwest Studies, FLC

 

Harrison Schmitt — Of Coyotes and Moon Landings (stargazing to follow, weather permitting)

July 29, Saturday, 8:30 p.m., Anasazi Heritage Center

 

John Bezy and Oralia Lopez — Influence of Prehistoric Casas Grandes Pottery on the Modern Mata Ortiz Ceramics Tradition: Lecture and Pottery Sale

August 1, Tuesday, 7:00 p.m., Crow Canyon Archaeological Center (hosted by CCAC and Hisatsinom/CAS)

 

Shelby Tisdale — 1864: The Navajo Long Walk to Bosque Redondo

August 9, Wednesday, 1:30 p.m., Lyceum, Center of Southwest Studies, FLC

 

Kari Schleher — Pottery Production, Learning, and Social Networks from the Central Mesa Verde Region to the Galisteo Basin

August 9, Wednesday, 7:00 p.m., Lyceum, Center of Southwest Studies, FVLC (hosted by SJB/CAS and FLC)

 

Paul Morey — Raptors of Mesa Verde

September 1, Friday, 7:00 p.m., Visitor and Research Center, Mesa Verde National Park

 

Jesse Tune — The Times They Were A-Changin’: Life on the CO Plateau at the End of the Ice Age

September 13, Wednesday, 7:00 p.m., Lyceum, Center of Southwest Studies, FLC (hosted by SJB/CAS and FLC)

 

Fumiyasu Arakawa — Landscape Studies in Alkali Ridge and Montezuma Canyon

September 23, Saturday, 2:00 p.m., Edge of the Cedars State Park Museum, Blanding

 

Cory Pillen — Promoting the National Parks: WPA Posters & Resource Conservation During the Depression Era

September 28, Thursday, 7:00 p.m., 130 Noble Hall, Fort Lewis College

 

Andrew Gulliford — Arborglyphs in Southwest Colorado

October 11, Wednesday, 7:00 p.m., Lyceum, Center of Southwest Studies, FLC (hosted by SJB/CAS and FLC)

 

Jason Chuipka — Time’s Arrow in Southeastern Utah: An Overview of Recent Site Stabilization Projects and Why Preservation Matters

October 14, Saturday, 2:00 p.m., Edge of the Cedars State Park Museum, Blanding (hosted by Friends of Cedar Mesa)

 

Chip Colwell — Plundered Skulls and Stolen Spirits:

Inside the Fight to Reclaim Native America’s Culture

October 19, Thursday, 7:00 p.m., 130 Noble Hall, Fort Lewis College

 

Native American Dances — May 31-September 2, Wednesday-Saturday, 7:00 p.m., Cortez Cultural Center

Four Corners Lecture Series